Less Cats, More Men

It’s been a week since my lovely friend said “I do,” and I gotta say, it was a wedding for the books. Seeing her and her now husband so in love was a wonderful feeling. You know how in movies they say they watch the groom watch the bride walk down the aisle, well, I wouldn’t recommend that for the faint hearted, because if you’re like me, you’ll turn into a puddle of tears and cry as a bridesmaid in front of the guests. I watched Jenny walk down with her proud father and looked at her look at her groom and then I looked at her groom look at her and that was it. Moonbeams galore. (For the record, I only cried 3 times.)

The moonbeams continued throughout the ceremony despite the goofy Will Ferrell-esque officiant and in 7 short minutes, they were Mr. and Mrs. Riehm.

Let me rewind to the morning of the wedding and getting ready with the maids. I had the best time primping and priming at the salon with the girls. The feeling of sitting in a styling chair with a hot coffee and a lady you’re paying to make your hair look better than the style you found on Pinterest must be like the high people got from doing coke at Studio 54, because holy moly, I could do that every day of my life. The throwback tunes playing while we chatted about the day and everything else just added to the perfect day that was to come.

I got the chance to catch up with the Maid of Honor and it was so perfect. She is one of those friends you meet and you know you want her to be a friend for life because everything she does and is, is positive and unselfish. I felt so grateful to be surrounded by some of the best people and knowing that one of my best friends chose these people to stand next to her on her big day.

Anywhoser. Back to the weddin’. We all hopped on a party bus to kick off the night and I’m not sure what it is, but DMX truly knows how to get the party started. We bopped on the bus and headed to the reception. It was one of the best receptions because there wasn’t a time the dance floor was empty. I was cuttin’ a rug all night and even though I am more uncoordinated than a baby giraffe on rollerskates, a groomsmen still twirled me around all night. (I still feel bad for stepping on his feet a couple times 😳)

I came home around 1 am and hit the bed hard. I was sore all day Sunday from moving muscles I hadn’t moved (and probably moved incorrectly) in a long time. I volunteered and came back for a lazy Sunday with my roommate.

So, on Tuesdays I teach English with 8-12 Spanish speaking adults and it is probably the highlight of my week. It’s definitely one of those things where they are teaching me more than I’m teaching them and the feeling I get from being in class with them is one that I haven’t had in a long, long time. My heart just bursts when I see them understanding something and I love chatting with them because they are just little birds now and just chirp in English. Anyway, they have asked me a million times if I have a boyfriend and I’ve said no and not really given them an explanation. They also know I have 2 cats because I have shown them pictures and have told them stories.

Well, I think I must have hit a point in my cat lady life because I was telling a story about Opie that I thought was hilarious and one of them had this serious look on her face. She looked at me with the look your mother gives you when she is genuinely concerned and said, “Hannah, you are too pretty to have more cats than men. Less cats, more men.”

Oh boy.

With that being said, I will turn down the cat talk and up my dude talk. I guess it’s come to that point. I thought it’d be a little more drastic, like I would be that girl who adopts 4 cats and has a cat room with cat trees and dresses them according to holidays, but I guess it was just one extra story about my roommate and I putting tape on the cats. Yeesh.

So, if anyone knows any dudes who would like a gal like me, give him my digits. Maybe. No, don’t. Wait, yes. Do. No, don’t. I don’t know.

Anyway, that was my week. I wish I could be a part of a friend’s wedding every week because I love the love and there really isn’t a feeling better than the warm fuzzies from love and beautiful friendships.

*Disclaimer: no more cats will be discussed on the blog. I’ll save that for my Snap Chat. Wait, no. Yes. No. Yes.*

Leave a Reply

